La Flèche Brabançonne

De Brabantse Pijl, also known as La Flèche Brabançonne, is a semi-classic professional cycling race held in the Flemish and Walloon Brabant regions, southwest of Brussels. Historically starting and finishing in Alsemberg, the race start moved to Zaventem in 2004, shifting the course to explore areas southeast of Brussels. This change introduced riders to a variety of local climbs, including the Alsemberg (Kerkenberg), Bruine Put, and Lindenberg, culminating in a challenging finish on the Alsemberg. In 2007, the race's organizers signed an agreement with the city of Leuven to start the semi-classic there for the next five years, altering the route south towards Itter, passing Halle and Sint-Pieters-Leeuw, and including local rounds featuring the notorious climbs of Alsemberg and Bruine Put, as well as Moskesstraat.

History of La Flèche Brabançonne

The Brabantse Pijl used to take place on the Sunday before the Tour of Flanders as part of the opening weekend of the Flemish Cycling Week but moved to the Wednesday before the Amstel Gold Race in 2010, thereby marking the beginning of the hill classics season. Since then, it has been a part of the Flanders Classics, and the finish line has been relocated from Alsemberg to Overijse. In Overijse, the race features several local laps with climbs such as the IJskelderlaan and the Hagaard, with the race concluding shortly after the Schavei climb. This move to Overijse and incorporation into the Flanders Classics was instrumental in reshaping the race. Furthermore, in 2018, a women's edition of the Brabantse Pijl was introduced, continuing the legacy of the Pajot Hills Classic, with the course initially starting and finishing in Gooik and including the Bosberg and Congoberg. Since 2020, the women's race, like the men's, finishes in Overijse.

Most recent winners of La Flèche Brabançonne

2023: Dorian Godon (France)
2022: Magnus Sheffield (United States)
2021: Tom Pidcock (United Kingdom)
2020: Julian Alaphilippe (France)
2019: Mathieu van der Poel (Netherlands)
2018: Tim Wellens (Belgium)
2017: Sonny Colbrelli (Italy)
2016: Petr Vakoč (Czech Republic)
2015: Ben Hermans (Belgium)

La Flèche Brabançonne News

Place comments



More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments