Brussels Cycling Classic

The Brussels Cycling Classic, formerly known as Paris-Brussels until June 2013, stands as one of Europe's seminal semi-classics and among the oldest races on the international cycling calendar. Originally started on August 12, 1893, as an amateur race covering a whopping 397 km, Belgian Andre Henry clinched the inaugural victory. After a hiatus, the event reemerged in 1906 as a two-day affair and soon settled into a single-day format by 1907.

Despite losing prominence in the 1960s due to logistical challenges and the rise of the Amstel Gold Race, the event found new life in the 1970s with a shift to a September date, just before Paris-Tours. The race has witnessed legendary moments, such as Octave Lapize's victories and Robbie McEwen setting a record with five wins. In 2013, the race was rebranded as the Brussels Cycling Classic and altered to take place entirely within Belgium, introducing a new route that includes several challenging climbs and finishes in Brussels.

Course of the Brussels Cycling Classic

The Brussels Cycling Classic has undergone several transformations in terms of its course and length over the years. Historically, the race was a grueling challenge, often exceeding 400 km, with the longest editions in 1913 and 1914 stretching up to 440 km. The route has evolved significantly since then, with the 2010 edition covering a distance of 218 km. Traditionally starting from areas north-east of Paris. The finish line has also shifted over the years, moving from the Anderlecht district in Brussels to the iconic Atomium in recent editions. Since 2013, when the race was rebranded as the Brussels Cycling Classic, it has exclusively taken place within Belgium, weaving through regions like Walloon Brabant, Flemish Brabant, and the Brussels-Capital Region, totaling a distance of 201 km with multiple challenging ascents.

Recent winners of the Brussels Cycling Classic

2023: Arnaud Démare (France)
2022: Taco van der Hoorn (Netherlands)
2021: Remco Evenepoel (Belgium)
2020: Tim Merlier (Belgium)
2019: Caleb Ewan (Australia)
2018: Pascal Ackermann (Germany)
2017: Arnaud Démare (France)
2016: Tom Boonen (Belgium)
2015: Dylan Groenewegen (Netherlands)

Brussels Cycling Classic News

Place comments



More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments