Classic Brugge-De Panne

The Classic Brugge–De Panne is a prominent road cycling event in Belgium, held annually in late March. Since 2018, the event has expanded to include two separate races: a men's race on Wednesday followed by a women's race on Thursday, both commencing in Bruges and concluding in De Panne. The women's race is a significant part of the UCI Women's World Tour, while the men's event, initially a 1.HC race on the UCI Europe Tour, was elevated to the UCI World Tour in 2019 as a 1.WT event.

Historically, this event evolved from the Three Days of De Panne, which started in 1977 and served as a crucial preparatory race for the Tour of Flanders. The original format included a mix of hilly stages, flat coastal stretches, and an individual time trial, showcasing a blend of challenging terrains. Eric Vanderaerden’s notable success, winning the event five times, highlighted its significance in the cycling calendar.

Transitioning in 2018, the event adapted to a new format, becoming the Classic Brugge–De Panne and shifting its schedule to follow Milan–San Remo. The restructured men’s one-day race and the introduction of a women’s event the next day reflect a modernized approach, focusing on routes within West Flanders and featuring the iconic Kemmelberg and cobbled sectors, maintaining its esteemed legacy in the cycling world.

Eric Vanderaerden of Belgium holds the record for the most victories. Vanderaerden, renowned for his sprinting and time-trialling prowess, triumphed five times, with wins in 1986, 1987, 1988, 1989, and 1993, showcasing his consistent excellence and versatility. Other notable multiple winners include Michele Bartoli of Italy, Viatcheslav Ekimov of Russia, Belgium's Peter Van Petegem, and Sylvain Chavanel from France, each securing two victories in different editions. 

On Wednesday 20 March and Thursday 21 March 2024, the start of the Classic Brugge - De Panne will take place on Bruges' Market Square.

Recent winners of the Classic Brugge-De Panne

2023 Jasper Philipsen
2022 Tim Merlier
2021 Sam Bennett
2020 Yves Lampaert
2019 Dylan Groenewegen
2018 Elia Viviani
2017 Philippe Gilbert
2016 Lieuwe Westra
2015 Alexander Kristoff

Classic Brugge-De Panne News

Place comments



More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments