Gent–Wevelgem, officially known as Gent–Wevelgem – In Flanders Fields, is a distinguished road cycling race held annually in Belgium. Originating in 1934, this event has become a staple in the Flemish Cycling Week, occurring on the last Sunday before the Tour of Flanders. The race is known for its challenging course, which includes multiple ascents of the Kemmelberg, a steep, cobbled climb. Despite its reputation as a sprinters’ classic due to its typically flat finale, the variable early-season weather and the race's arduous climbs often lead to a selection, with winners usually emerging from a small, leading group rather than a mass sprint.

Incorporated into the UCI ProTour in 2005 and later the UCI World Tour in 2011, Gent–Wevelgem has gained prominence and is now managed by Flanders Classics, the same organization behind the Tour of Flanders. Since 2012, the event has expanded to include a women's race, aligning with the men’s race day and joining the UCI Women's World Tour in 2016. Notably, six riders—Robert Van Eenaeme, Rik Van Looy, Eddy Merckx, Tom Boonen, Mario Cipollini, and Peter Sagan—share the record for the most wins, each securing three victories, with Sagan also achieving a record six podium finishes.

The current route, solidified since 2004, commences in Deinze and ventures westward, incorporating strategic cobbled sections and hills, notably the Kemmelberg, pivotal in the race's outcome. Despite its sprint-friendly reputation, the race's dynamic nature, influenced by tactical breakaways and the unpredictable Belgian weather, often leads to thrilling, unpredictable finishes. The event not only celebrates cycling but also commemorates the historical significance of the Flanders Fields, marking it as a race of remembrance as well as athletic achievement. The 2016 edition was overshadowed by the tragic death of Antoine Demoitié, adding a somber note to its history.

The 76th edition of Gent-Wevelgem in Flanders Fields will be held on March 24, 2024, this year's route at 253.1 kilometres is 7km shorter than in 2023 and starts from the Menin Gate in Ypres, a memorial to the victims of World War I, and ends on Vanackerestraat in Wevelgem.

Recent winners of Gent-Wevelgem

2023 Christophe Laporte
2022 Biniam Girmay
2021 Wout van Aert
2020 Mads Pedersen
2019 Alexander Kristoff
2018 Peter Sagan
2017 Greg Van Avermaet
2016 Peter Sagan
2015 Luca Paolini

Gent-Wevelgem News

Place comments



More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments