Dwars door Vlaanderen

Dwars door Vlaanderen, translated as "Across Flanders," is a prestigious semi-classic road bicycle race in Belgium, part of the UCI World Tour since 2017. The race commences in Roeselare and concludes in Waregem, traversing the scenic and challenging terrain of West Flanders. This event is a significant fixture in the Flemish Cycling Week, closely associated with other prominent races like E3 Harelbeke, Gent–Wevelgem, and the Tour of Flanders.

Initially established in 1945 and known as Dwars door België, the race has evolved from its early format. Initially, it was a stage race and, for most of its history, a one-day race. The event was rebranded to its current name in 2000, shifting the start location to Roeselare. The race's timing, just before the Tour of Flanders, makes it a critical preparation event, offering riders a final tune-up on similar terrain, featuring a series of challenging climbs and cobbled sections characteristic of Flemish racing.

The route, approximately 180 kilometers long since the 2018 adjustments, showcases the Flemish Ardennes' hilly landscape. Key climbs like the Taaienberg, Kruisberg, and Côte de Trieu test the riders before they face the final climb, Nokereberg, leading into a flat finish in Waregem. These arduous sections, coupled with flat cobbled stretches, contribute to the race's reputation as a mini Tour of Flanders, demanding tactical savvy and resilience from the competitors.

In addition to the men's race, since 2012, there's been a women's edition, underscoring the race's commitment to promoting cycling across genders. Both events share the start and finish locations, celebrating the rich cycling heritage and challenging terrain of Flanders. The inclusion in the UCI World Tour elevates its prestige, drawing a high-caliber field of competitors eager to test their mettle on the cobbled climbs and fast descents that define this classic Belgian race.

The course for the 2024 Dwars door Vlaanderen includes a total of 12 climbs, one more than the previous year, and eight cobblestone sections.

Recent winners of Dwars door Vlaanderen

 2023 Christophe Laporte
2022 Mathieu van der Poel
2021 Dylan van Baarle
2020 No race due to pandemic
2019 Mathieu van der Poel
2018 Yves Lampaert
2017 Yves Lampaert
2016 Jens Debusschere
2015 Jelle Wallays

Dwars door Vlaanderen News

Place comments



More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments