La Flèche Wallonne

La Flèche Wallonne (known in English as the Walloon Arrow) is an annual cycling race held in Wallonia, the French-speaking region of Belgium. The race has been organized since 1936 and is part of the UCI WorldTour. IDLProCycling,com has compiled some information and interesting facts about La Flèche Wallonne!

La Flèche Wallonne is usually held in April, a few days before the classic Liège-Bastogne-Liège. This year, the race will take place on Wednesday, April 17. The course is about 200 kilometers long, featuring multiple ascents of the legendary Mur de Huy. After the final climb of this steep hill, with an average gradient of 9.6%, the riders finish at the top of the Mur de Huy.

La Flèche Wallonne is an important race in the cycling season and is often regarded as one of the most prestigious one-day races of the spring. Notable winners include Eddy Merckx (three times), Bernard Hinault (twice), Laurent Jalabert (twice), Davide Rebellin (three times), and Alejandro Valverde (five times).

Recent winners of La Flèche Wallonne

2023 Tadej Pogačar
2022 Dylan Teuns
2021 Julian Alaphilippe
2020 Marc Hirschi
2019 Julian Alaphilippe
2018 Julian Alaphilippe
2017 Alejandro Valverde
2016 Alejandro Valverde
2015 Alejandro Valverde
2014 Alejandro Valverde

La Flèche Wallonne News

Place comments



More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments