Four days of Dunkirk

The Quatre Jours de Dunkerque (English: Four days of Dunkirk), also known as the Grand Prix des Hauts de France, is a professional stage cycling race held annually in the Hauts-de-France region. Established in 1955 by a group led by René Quillot, the event initially ran over four days, which is reflected in its name, although it has since expanded to six days covering six stages. Despite its title, the race has varied in length over the years, ranging from its original four-day format to including up to eight stages within six days. The race traditionally takes place in May.

The Quatre Jours de Dunkerque showcases a diverse terrain that challenges the versatility of professional cyclists, stretching across the scenic Hauts-de-France region. The race, evolving from four to six days, incorporates a blend of flat stages that cater to sprinters and an arduous hilly stage that can be decisive for the general classification. Traditionally, this key stage takes riders through the rugged landscapes of the Flandre region, featuring the Mont Cassel climb—a test of endurance and strategy. With about 1,100 kilometers of ground to cover, including strategic points for bonifications and the mix of flat sprints, cobblestone sections, and hilly terrains ensures an unpredictable race.

Most recent winners of the Four days of Dunkirk

2023: Romain Grégoire (France)
2022: Philippe Gilbert (Belgium)
2021: Cancelled
2020: Cancelled
2019: Mike Teunissen (Netherlands)
2018: Dimitri Claeys (Belgium)
2017: Clément Venturini (France)
2016: Bryan Coquard (France)
2015: Ignatas Konovalovas (Lithuania)

Place comments



More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments