Tour of Catalonia

The Volta a Catalunya, held annually in Catalonia, Spain, is a prestigious road bicycle race and one of the three World Tour stage races in the country, alongside the Vuelta a España and the Tour of the Basque Country. Since 2010, it has been scheduled in late March as part of the UCI World Tour, although it has been held in various months in the past. The event, which spans seven days, traverses the diverse terrains of Catalonia, often including challenging stages in the Pyrenees mountains and concluding with a distinctive circuit in Barcelona that features the Montjuïc climb.

Established in 1911, it stands as the fourth-oldest existing cycling stage race globally, with a rich history highlighted by Mariano Cañardo’s record seven victories in the early 20th century. The race's route typically commences in the Costa Brava, presenting an opportunity for sprinters, before heading into the Pyrenees where the riders face less elevated mountains than in previous editions, adjusted for the colder March weather. A notable feature is the La Molina climb, leading to a ski resort and challenging the cyclists with its altitude and potential inclement weather. The event concludes with a hilly stage in Barcelona, encapsulating the race's enduring appeal and its significant place in the cycling calendar.

The 103rd edition of the Volta a Catalunya sets off on Monday 18 March 2024 from Sant Feliu de Guíxols to finish on Sunday the 28th on the renowned Montjuic city circuit in Barcelona.

Recent winners of the Tour of Catalonia

 2023 Primoz Roglic
2022 Sergio Higuita
2021 Adam Yates
2020 No race due to pandemic
2019 Miguel Ángel López
2018 Alejandro Valverde
2017 Alejandro Valverde
2016 Nairo Quintana
2015 Richie Porte

Tour of Catalonia News

Place comments



More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments